Councillor Allowances

Wyndham City Councillors receive an annual allowance as set by the Minister for Local Government and as prescribed in the Local Government Act 1989.  The Local Government Act also prescribes an additional payment to the Mayor and Councillors equivalent to the superannuation guarantee that may be paid to the Councillor as either an addition to their allowance or paid into their nominated superannuation fund (at the discretion of the Councillor).

The Mayoral and Councillor allowances are set until the Minister conducts the review of the limits and ranges of Councillor and Mayoral allowances (an increase to the allowance is usually effective as of 1 December each year) to determine if an adjustment factor should be applied.

Effective from 1 December 2019 the annual allowances and superannuation contribution for Wyndham Councillors are:







Superannuation Guarantee (9.5%)



Total Payable




Council has adopted the Councillor Expenses and Entitlements Policy which outlines the resources/support to be provided to the Mayor and Councillors, and the expenses that may be claimed in the performance of their duties as elected representatives of the community.

For more information on how Wyndham City staff assist and support the Mayor and Councillors, see:

Councillor Expenses and Entitlements Policy 2020

Reports: Councillor Expenses

Council publishes details of the Councillor expenses in its Annual Report as required by the Local Government Act and associated Regulations.  Following a recent review of the Councillor Expenses and Entitlements Policy, Council has also resolved to publish the reimbursement of Councillor expenses on the Council website every six months.

Councillor Expenses Report - 1 January 2020 to 30 June 2020

Councillor Expenses Report - 1 July 2019 to 30 December 2019

Councillor Expenses Report - 1 January 2019 to 30 June 2019

Councillor Expenses Report - 1 July 2018 - 31 December 2018

Councillor Expenses Report – 1 January 2018 to 30 June 2018

Councillor Expenses Report - 1 July 2017 to 31 December 2017


Back to top