Chief Executive Officer: Stephen Wall

Chief Executive Officer: Stephen Wall

Stephen Wall has been appointed Chief Executive of Wyndham City Council.

Mr Wall has more than two decades of experience in local government and, more recently, was Chief Executive of Maribyrnong City Council.
“I chose many years ago to commit to working in the local government sector as I firmly believe it to be the level of government that has the most direct impact on the lives of residents. I will bring energy and enthusiasm to working at Wyndham,” he said.


  • Chief Executive Officer – Maribyrnong City Council: October 2014 to July 2021
  • Chief Executive Officer – Surf Coast Shire Council: September 2012 to October 2014
  • General Manager Corporate Services – Maribyrnong City Council: Feb 2011 to August 2012
  • Director of Corporate Services – Surf Coast Shire Council: September 2005 to February 2011


  • Master of Business Administration (MBA) Finance, General Charles Sturt University 2003-2005
  • Bachelor of Business (HR/Finance) 1998-2003

The CEO's Office comprises:

  • People & Capability
  • Chief Legal Counsel
  • Corporate Affairs
  • Financial
  • Chief Executive Office

City Life

Liana new

Liana Thompson, Director City Life

Liana commenced with Council in October 2022.

Liana brings over 25 years of local government sector experience to the Wyndham City Council.  She is a values driven leader who strives to create prosperity and wellbeing for communities and organisations.  Liana has been recognised as one of the Top 50 Women in the Public Sector (2020), has been awarded life membership of the Victorian Local Governance Association for her contribution to local government and is currently the President of LGPro, representing local government professionals in Victoria.

She brings a wealth of experience to Wyndham City having held the role of CEO at Northern Grampians Shire Council, Director Partnerships, Planning and Engagement at Whittlesea City Council, Director Corporate and Community at Baw Baw Shire Liana has a passion for customer service, continuous improvement, and building Council.

Liana is passionate about providing sustainable services that meet community needs now and into the future.  In her spare time, she loves to cook, walk and paddle with her dragonboat team.

City Operations

Stephen Thorpe

Director: Stephen Thorpe

Stephen commenced with Wyndham in 2012, starting as Manager Asset Management and Maintenance, then taking on the roles of Manager Assets and Roads and Manager Facilities and Recreation during 2015, before his appointment to the position of Director, City Operations in 2016.

Stephen has a broad range of knowledge, skills and experience in delivering council services. He has worked for twenty years managing a wide range of key services at four Melbourne councils, and was the Managing Director of Australian Landscape Management, a design and management consultancy, for ten years.

Stephen’s qualifications include: 

  • Bachelor of Applied Science (BAppSc), Burnley Horticulture College, Melbourne University.
  • Masters of Business Administration, (MBA), Victoria University.

In his spare time Stephen enjoys sailing, boat and furniture building, and travelling.

The City Operations Directorate ensures Wyndham is delivering essential services to public places and properties, including capital works projects, facility management, local laws enforcement, waste management, road and drain maintenance, and care of parks and gardens.

The City Operations Directorate comprises the following departments:

  • Open Space
  • Roads & Maintenance
  • Infrastructure Service Planning
  • Refuse Disposal Facility
  • Waste Collection
  • City Amenity and Safety
  • Facilities and Projects

Planning and Liveability

Director City Design and Liveability: Peter McKinnon

Peter McKinnon, Director Planning and Liveability

Peter commenced with Wyndham in 2010 as the Manager Environment and Sustainability, and has since held a range of roles across the organisation. A town planner by trade, Peter has had a strong career in the public sector having worked across planning, building, environment, water, open space planning and economic development. Most recently, he has led the organisation’s response to COVID-19, overseeing outbreak management, links into government, the establishment of testing sites across the City, as well as vaccination clinics and pop-up hubs.

His qualifications include:

Bachelor Planning & Design, University of Melbourne

Graduate Diploma Urban Planning, University of Melbourne

Diploma Education (Secondary), Victoria University

In his spare time, Peter enjoys spending time with his wife and two sons, surfing, and reading a good book.

The City Design and Liveability directorate is responsible for planning to ensure the City we build is connected, smart, sustainable, and meets the community needs. It works to ensure the City we build is connected, smart, sustainable, resilient and meets community needs.

The City Design and Liveability Directorate comprises of the following departments:

  • Strategic Planning and Property
  • Planning, Building and Health
  • Transport and Sustainability
  • Arts, Events and Cultural Venues
  • Economy Design and Place

Corporate Services

Director Corporate Affairs: Mark Stoermer

Director Corporate Affairs: Mark Stoermer

Mark commenced with Council in February 2022.

Mark brings nearly 40 years of public and private sector experience to the Wyndham City Council. With a BA from the University of California at Berkeley and an MBA in Finance from New York University, Mark has led IT and business advisory firms in the US and Australia.

He also brings management consulting experience which he has applied to the public sector where he commenced as a Director of Corporate Services at the City of Melbourne before taking on the role as CEO at the Nillumbik Shire Council and the Douglas Shire Council.

Mark has a passion for customer service, continuous improvement, and building strong performing, collaborative cultures. In his spare time, Mark enjoys writing, painting, cooking and exercising.

The Corporate Affairs Directorate comprises of the following departments:

  • Chief Information Officer
  • People and Capability
  • Corporate Affairs
  • Customer Service
  • Finance
  • Procurement
Back to top